An Unplanned Brickstitch Purse

In August 2013, I found myself at an SCA event having forgotten the project I had been working on. After digging through my sewing kit, I found some counted linen and spun silk thread. I pulled up a pattern I liked from Medieval Silkwork and set to work.

Fast forward to January 2015, and I had finally finished the embroidery.

2015-01-26-19.30.28.jpg
The finished embroidery.
2015-01-26-19.38.49.jpg
After pressing – the sheen is lovely!

It measured approximately 4 inches by 10.5 inches. I timed how long it took for me to embroider one square inch, and calculated that it took me about 25 hours to embroider the whole thing. Next, I cut out a piece of grey linen and whipstitched it to the embroidery.

2015-01-27-12.39.57.jpg
Stitching together the embroidery and lining.
2015-01-27-17.08.02_thumb.jpg
Sewn together.

Next, I simultaneously sewed the side seams of the purse and finished them using a technique also from Medieval Silkwork.

Sewing and finishing the seams.
Sewing and finishing the seams.
A view of the finished top seams.
A view of the finished top seams.

Finally, I made a simple three-loop fingerloop braid for the purse to hang from, and a three-strand braid as a closure. I used an awl to make the holes for the braid to thread through and didn’t finish the edges. Three tassels across the bottom, and the purse was done.

Finished!
Finished!
Drawn closed.
Drawn closed.

For the most part, I’m pleased with the finished product. I will be replacing the drawstring braid with something easier to close – I had very little silk left over at the end, and I’m having a hard time keeping the purse closed.

Notes for next time:

  • The spun silk looked lovely at first, especially after a pressing, but it’s quickly getting fuzzy. Reeled silk will hold up better, and seems to be what was used in period.
  • I would like to actually properly research and document the next purse I made rather than slapping together something with little planning.

Leave a comment